Magnepan vs polk

Options
fyrn
fyrn Posts: 146
For those who have heard both, how would you compare magnepan MMG's vs the LSI9's . The winner is?

Comments

• polkfarmboy
    polkfarmboy Posts: 5,703
    Options
    LSI9 because they sound nothing like a tiny maggie.
  • fyrn
    Options
    Let me rephrase, I guess what I'm really asking is at what point (model) would a magnepan compare to the LSI9. Or is the technology so different that they really can't be compared
  • fyrn
    edited October 2014
    Options
    Thanks Dskip, I'm new to the maggies technology. I've read great thing about their SQ but can't get pass the construction. They seem too fragile to me. Interesting though.
  • PSOVLSK
    PSOVLSK Posts: 5,059
    edited October 2014
    Options
    Ironic that you should mention them being fragile to Skip given the unfortunate demise of his beloved Maggies :p:'(
    Things work out best for those who make the best of the way things work out.-John Wooden
  • Mystery
    Mystery Posts: 2,546
    Options
    In general, Maggies are better than normal run of the mill models.
    The tweeter panel will come undone and need to refurbish often.
    I have listened to them and highs/mids are amazingly good but they also make the whole scenery bigger, even than what's realistic.
    They need a lot of room and power so that's something Polks are much better in. :wink:

Klipsch RB81, KG3.5, B&W DM602.5, Polk.
    Subwoofers: Klipsch RW10, Triad ProSub Bronze.
  • audiocr381ve
    audiocr381ve Posts: 2,588
    edited October 2014
    Options
    fyrn wrote: »
    Thanks Dskip, I'm new to the maggies technology. I've read great thing about their SQ but can't get pass the construction. They seem too fragile to me. Interesting though.

I've owned both.

LSi9's

-Full-range sound (no need for a sub although you may prefer one)
    -Sweet top end
    -Can play anything
    -Great looking speakers
    -Relatively easy to place although they're rear ported