Parasound Model 5125 - how to connect channels

msg
msg Posts: 9,308
edited January 2014 in Electronics
I was just browsing Parasound amps and came across the Model 5125, 5ch.
How does one connect this? Are preouts from an AVR or Preamp singles or doubles?

http://parasound.com/vintage/5125.php

5125_rear_577.jpg
I disabled signatures.
Post edited by msg on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,708
    edited January 2014
    Singles.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• msg
    edited January 2014
    cool, thanks.
    I disabled signatures.
  • msg
    edited January 2014
    so how does one connect this to the 5125, since the preouts are L+R channels? with y-cables, or some proprietary cable from Parasound?
    sorry, I'm new to home audio amplifiers.

Screen shot 2014-01-16 at 8.43.52 AM.png
    I disabled signatures.
  • Obsession18
    Obsession18 Posts: 191
    edited January 2014
    The pic of the AVR appears to be a 9.1 channel setup, the 5125 is a 5 channel amp, so only 5 outgoing channels on the AVR can be used. Most people run a 5.1 channel setup, for example the front L and R would go to channel 1 and 2, the center to channel 3 and surround L and R would go the channels 4 and 5, the .1 channel is the subwoofer.
    2-Channel System
    Analog: VPI Traveler TT, Audio Technica 150MLX, Pro-Ject Tube Box DS
    CD Player: Jolida JD-100 Preamp: Cambridge 840E Amp: Odyssey Kismet Stereo
    Spkrs: Tyler Acoustics Linbrook Signature Systems
  • txcoastal1
    txcoastal1 Posts: 13,124
    edited January 2014