Moved to car audio thread: DXI5251?

Options
jtorre4272
jtorre4272 Posts: 9
edited December 2013 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hi folks, I am new to the Polk forums. I maved have posted originaly to the wrong location as I got no replies.

I have a classic Porsche that I am in the process of upgrading to have a well-rounded sound system. Several enthusiast members of our private Porsche forum recommended Polk. Well, I took the plunge and ordered a set of DXI6501's (Latest model with new woofer material) for my rear fill. Problem with these components is that I can't seem to find their mating 5.25" equivalent for my front doors?!? I saw their DB6501 line, but would prefer to keep everything as the DXI line. The existing DXI 5.25" component version for sale today appears to be last year's model.

So, is there anyone out there who can tell me not to worry, the DXI line in new 5.25" components is on its way? or should I simply return the DXIs I ordered and switch to the DB series completely? Everything I am reading tells me the DXI has the edge overall, but I will reserve judgement until I have all the facts.

Cheers

Joe T.
Post edited by jtorre4272 on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited December 2013
    Options
    There may not be a new 5.25 component version coming out as that's not that big a selling item. You can get the coaxial DXi521 model which will be just as good. They're the same mid and tweeter that's in the coaxial version, it's just a separate tweet with a passive crossover.

If it has to be component, go ahead with the DXi5250 and enjoy. They're excellent entry level speakers as well.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st