The old common ground issue....

Options
Bacchus
Bacchus Posts: 20
edited September 2013 in Vintage Speakers
hello all,

I am a newbie on this form. I recently decided to replace a system I sold which included polk 10b monitors and a sansui au-g99x amp that I sold after I got married some years ago. Now that I am divorced I want to put together another killer system using classic polks.

I was fortunate and found some good deals online and got a set of polk sda 2a ($140) in great shape and also a set of CRS ($250) also in minty condition. Both sets are blade/blade interconnects.

I also purchased a sansui B-2101 amp and pre-amp with 200w rms to supply something close to a reasonable amount of power to these great speakers.

So as you might have guessed the issue has now come to my attention of the common ground..... I have been informed that this amp is not a common ground amp so now I have alot of nice gear that will not work together as expected.

my questions are:

can anyone confirm that the sansui B2120 is not a common ground amp?

If the amp is a non common ground amp can I use these speakers without attaching the interconnect cable safely or is this just a no go with no hope of making it work.

I was told that a polk "isolation transformer" will solve my problem but that polk no longer offers them... does anyone have one for sale or know where I can get this??? also wondering if I would need one or two, one for each set.

thank in advance for any information provided

Bacchus
Post edited by Bacchus on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,834
    edited September 2013
    Options
    You can test the amp yourself with a VOM. You want to check the resistance between the negative binding posts.
    If the amp is a non common ground amp can I use these speakers without attaching the interconnect cable safely or is this just a no go with no hope of making it work.