Custom Dual MM104 Box

mtgcolwell
mtgcolwell Posts: 4
edited August 2003 in Custom Fabrication
Hey Polk Enthusiasts,

I have 2 Momo MM104s and a 92 Accord LX to put them in along with a nice Audiobahn 2ch 2150 Amp. I want to face them towards the front of the car and have a plexiglass window letting you see the nice Momo's thumping from the back. I want the inside of the box to look good with some sort of colored formica (spelling?) used on the interior of the box. I had this design quoted at one of the local car audio shops and they wanted $1400 for the install! I am not paying that. I am pretty handy with building stuff, so my buds and I going to try to build a box that I am dreaming of, but do not know the exact specs of what I want. Could anyone send me some great sub box plans? I am new to custom fabrication of audio components in my car and any advice is appreciated! Also, how much should materials cost?
Post edited by mtgcolwell on

Comments

• PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited August 2003
    materials will usually run you 10-20% of the retail cost of a box -- least that's the trend i've noticed ... 1400 * .2 = 280

also -- i dont own your car. nor do i intend to spend xyz hours - yes hours - designing a box specific for your vehicle.

i spent an hour designing a rectangular box, just because i'm nit picky and wanted to see what different dimensions would do... do design a vehicle specific box of the extent you speak of is a several hour, or maybe even a day project.

you've got to do that yourself with a tape measure, a calculator, a pen and a pad...

as far as what materials to use, there i can help you.

the absolute most rigid and durable **** out there is cabinet grade baltic birch plywood... 40 - 50 dollars for a 4 foot by 8 foot sheet.