Derick, got the TT up and running...

organ
organ Posts: 4,969
edited July 2003 in 2 Channel Audio
I was too lazy to get it running again until today. As I was paying for my CD's at HMV, I took a look all the way down the room and at a distant something caught my eye, WOW!, a vinyl section!. And then my guts hit the floor. My fav brand, Cradle of Filth(Damnation and a Day) was proudly standind up on display. After paying fo my CD's, I walked over and picked it up. I browsed through their selection and found Nightwish(Century Child)!!!WAAAAA!?!? Now that's 2 of my fav bands, **** it was the last copy too. I bought both. I'm so happy!!!. They also had many other black metal stuff I already own. Gotta buy those albums again, especially the new Lacuna Coil album. I just started playing around with the TT and found that the records stops skippig at 0.75g, so I increased it to 1g. I don't want to go too heavy. My records might get eaten up:).

Now it sounds fantastic! Very natural, not harsh at all and great detail. I can't say it sounds better than my CD player but I'm very impressed. Let's just say it's different. I'm using my NAD pre for the phono section and my new Antique Sound Lab tube pre for pre-amplification. Speakers are being powered by the NAD. I'm still waiting for my quad capacitor to come in so I can get the Dynaco running again. Now I know why you're a vinyl freak:). Well thanks for reading, just wanted to share my adventure.

Maurice
Post edited by organ on

Comments

• madmax
    madmax Posts: 12,434
    edited July 2003
    Not that you asked or I know or anyone cares but... I've heard that too light is almost as bad as too heavy. If it is too light the arm bounces, even though the needle stays in contact, causing the force to change. This bouncing causes degregation of the lp fairly quickly because it always bounces at the same place. (right after a small warp). Don't know much about it, just read it somewhere. I set mine a about 1.75g now.
    madmax